Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – It’s Up To Us

July 4, 2010

Back from a little hiatus…

“No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.”

~ The Buddha

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 4, 2010 1:55 pm

    Hey Jason…tryin to do something about the time slippage…(more than the acceleration of the apparent passage of time) it refers to an increasing ineptitude at allotting activities and the efficient use of available time…or something like that.

    (my favorite: …”the world is a feeling, I am responsible for how I feel”)… there was someone, unfortunately cannot remember who came up with the ” I am a verb”…damn would love to come up with an expression like that…anyway will keep on keepin’ on, as we said back in the day…
    (the Project) is still a place I enjoy coming to and (trying) to contribute something of some merit…

  2. July 6, 2010 7:06 pm

    I swear there is an absolute time slippage. I don’t know if it’s because we have so much “stuff” crowding our lives from work, families, tv, email, FB, blah, blah, blah or if there is a literal cosmic speeding up as the universe grows faster and faster (or, and probably, both). All I know is that I am really striving to apply a more simple use of time.

    Just seems like by the time the end of the day comes it’s like “what did I even do today”. Not a feeling of awareness that I enjoy and usually cultivate.

    I appreciate your participation in The Project (as you have coined it and I dig). My intention during this one year anniversary month is to commit myself more fully to developing not only my participation in this project in cyberspace but also in “real” (what is real though really?) space.

  3. July 7, 2010 8:21 pm

    Yah I keep tellin people, even today, “Can you believe its July already?” What I’m really thinking is where did the last 7 years go?

  4. July 8, 2010 6:33 pm

    Hey, when you see that in print (not to get too weird) the statement, ‘Can you believe its July already’, sort of brings home the fact that a whole bunch of what passes for objective reality is really just an agreement among (the) participants. I know it is not required that I contribute my affirmation that ‘it really is July’, but there is that ‘undertone’ that statement.
    A lot of other everyday statements are like that; my favorite is the saying, “Hey its just common sense”.
    So it is this sense (perception) that is agreed to by the group that forms that basis for reality.

    (Sorry to get off on a bit of a tangent), t is not that I will think to myself “yeah well this July thing is all an illusion” or anything exotic/eccentric/or crazy like that. It is just that you can ‘hear’ at times the tone of expressions and concepts that are shared by the group and realize that these statements are not and were never intended to apply to the individual, only to the group (member).

    All serves to bring me back to the fact that there is a difference to how much of the day I encounter today is the “common sense world” and how much is up to me to perceive and appreciate as an individual.

  5. Melanie permalink
    July 27, 2010 11:04 pm

    Hey Jason, been having my own time thing going on… and a reality thing going on as well. Good quote, simple but to the point.

Leave a Reply

