Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – Normal

April 29, 2010

Normal is getting dressed in clothes that you buy for work and driving through traffic in a car that you are still paying for – in order to get to the job you need to pay for the clothes and the car, and the house you leave vacant all day so you can afford to live in it.

~ Ellen Goodman (American journalist and Pulitzer-Prize winning columnist)
One Comment leave one →
  1. May 2, 2010 2:08 pm

    …challenging Quote… am ranging throughout the web trying to locate a ‘story’ that I came across once, no luck though.
    I will try to paraphrase it, (warning I have been told that I am incapable of telling the simplest of jokes), anyway.

    It is one of those Zen type stories: ‘you wake up in the morning and work in the fields, stop and have lunch and while doing that acheive enlightenment, afterwards you go back and work in the fields…’

    (Sorry for the hack job on a really powerful statement. I just came across another similar story: monk approaches the master and asks to be taught the Way, master says, ‘have you eaten your rice porridge?’, the monk says, ‘yes’ to which the master replies, ‘then you had better wash your bowl’.)
    Dude…

    I really enjoy those kinds of stories.
    My own inclination in matters spiritual is to: “Seek Enlightenment and the Secret of the Universe”, these lessons remind me that I need to live my life.

    (After reading my Comment and re-reading the Quote of the Week, I fear I went shooting off on a total tangent…lol)

    (www.wakefielddoctrine.com)

Leave a Reply

