Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – Lao Tzu

February 17, 2010

Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.

~ Lao Tzu (Chinese Philosopher, author of the “Tao Te Ching”)

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    February 21, 2010 10:34 am

    Thank you for this quote my friend! This is a universal truth. I am going to borrow this quote for my talk on the 28th. These words seem to need repeating right now. Canny how you know what to pick out for quote of the week. Funny how the universe works. I have been caught up in life lately but I am back to posting again.

  2. February 24, 2010 10:44 am

    Happy the quote is of service. I would love to be at your talk on the 28th but I think I have to work that day (Sundays have been on my work schedule for the last month).

    I have always loved Lao Tzu and The Tao. I think this quote is one of those that helps address “Weeding the Garden”. It takes you back into the root cause of thought, and just how powerful (for better or worse) those thoughts are…so seemingly harmless, so insignificant, yet ultimately powerful and life-shaping.

    Great thing is, we can change them, whenever we choose.

    Change your thoughts, change your life.

    That is refreshing….

Leave a Reply

