Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – Inertia And Frustration

February 4, 2010

Man…got so wrapped up in projects that the quote almost slipped right by…

All that is necessary to break the spell of inertia and frustration is this: Act as if it were impossible to fail. That is the talisman, the formula, the command of right about face which turns us from failure to success.

~ Dorothea Brande (American writer 1893-1948)

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. clarkscottroger permalink
    February 7, 2010 6:07 pm

    Interesting quote.
    I hear it (act as if it were impossible to fail) as an effort to stop ‘indulging in immortality’, which is a line/concept from Castenada. Don Juan tells Carlos that he must act as if it were his last act, to hold nothing back. To indulge in immortality is to believe that there will always be another chance, a ‘taking it over’.
    On a certain level these seem like ‘word games’, but when effective, certain phrases can help trigger states that are different from our day to day thinking.
    To act without reservation, as if it were my last act on earth is (to me) the goal of any of these phrases…to spur my everyday mind into action that it is capable of but not inclined to take.

    (www.wakefielddoctrine.com)

  2. February 10, 2010 9:09 pm

    Interesting what you Don Juan says about “indulging immortality”. I think this indulging in immortality is what leads to a lot of apathy (at least within me at times). It’s something that has been on my mind lately. I think I can tend to sit in that eternal state, not worrying, but not necessarily acting. It is that action that needs to be taken, that warrior way that Castaneda writes about so often.

  3. clarkscottroger permalink
    February 11, 2010 6:23 am

    Yeah, what is bracing/rude awakening/depressing self eval is when I can see that ‘a large portion’ of my ‘self’ is working on the premise: ‘hey when the real stuff starts happening then I will pull it out’.

    Kind of like, who needs to pass quizzes, its the final exam that counts and then (compounding that sin) with I’ll pull an ‘all nighter’.

    Jeez…but the only good of this is if I can ‘grab myself’ by the scruff of the neck and say, ‘hey do you see what that really means?’ This is not practice or rehearsal, this is it.

    Damn, how powerful is self-created/maintained delusion.

    This is a good blog.
    Helps me remember that today is it. Not tomorrow, not when I ‘really get my shit together’, today.

    …ready or not, lol

    (www.wakefielddoctrine.com)

Leave a Reply

