Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 12/31/09

December 31, 2009

For last year’s words belong to last year’s language
And next year’s words await another voice.
And to make an end is to make a beginning.

~ T.S. Eliot from “The Little Gidding”

We would love to wish everyone a very healthy and happy New Year. May 2010 bring wonderment and joy to you all. Thanks for participating in the Project.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    December 31, 2009 9:46 am

    Amen

  2. clarkscottroger permalink
    January 5, 2010 5:11 am

    (….sorry I’m late..) er..I agree with Melanie.

    (There that was easy!) (It this thing still on?…)

    Sorry guys for attempt to cover my lack of proper content with levity?
    Now that I look at (this week’s Quote) it does resonate with where I seem to find myself. It seems that in any process there are structured points of (self)(re)assessment built into the ‘planning’ stages of a project and there are also ‘externally imposed’ points.

    Example of the first would be goals set in the beginning (of a process), ‘I will write this Post…I will write so many Posts/Comments…etc’.
    (Speaking for myself), I usually start a project with a plan to look back at set points, in order to check my ‘progress’.

    Exampe of the other type, the ‘externally imposed’ (points of re-assessment) would be the cultural-based points of re-assessment.
    New Years day is classic, but also there are other age/development related benchmarks…13 to 14 year birthdays., ‘sweet sixteen’, ‘drinking age’, draft age, high school graduation, etc.
    We look back, at these times, because that is what we ‘know’ we are supposed to do at these times.
    Finally, I think there are ‘personal’ re-assessment points. These are the insidious ones, the ones we have come to ‘know’ are true only to ourselves. These are very often the ‘self-limiters’.

    (For me): ‘hey you have done this blog thing for so long, why are you not more sucessful?’ or ‘hey after all this work shouldn’t you be thinking about doing something more challenging?’.

    (In old cartoons I remember, there used to be a ‘device’ where the character would see a devil and an angel on his shoulder, giving advice to further the plot.)
    I have come to realize that I am both the devil and the angel and neither one of them really has my best interests at heart.

    If I would say one thing that means something (within) myself in regards to this week’s Quote, it would be: ‘You can’t step in the same river twice’.

    Can’t recall who said this first, but for me it is ‘a place to stand’ that helps me to move forward from re-assessement points, back into simply (trying) to live and act in the here and now.

    (Man! Talk about taking time off from the ‘gym’ pver the holidays and how tough it is to get back into it. lol)

Leave a Reply

