Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 12/23/05

December 23, 2009

As Winter Solstice has come and gone and Christmas time is upon us, may we strive to realize peace on earth, goodwill to all humankind (and plants, animals, minerals, and the like…).

Here’s the Christmas version of the Quote(s) of the Week:

I am not alone at all, I thought. I was never alone at all. And that, of course, is the message of Christmas. We are never alone. Not when the night is darkest, the wind coldest, the world seemingly most indifferent. For this is still the time God chooses.

~ Taylor Caldwell (American Novelist)

Christmas is not a time nor a season, but a state of mind. To cherish peace and goodwill, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas.

~ Calvin Coolidge (America’s 30th President)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. clarkscottroger permalink
    December 28, 2009 4:30 pm

    This should be (marginally) apropos to the Quote(s) of the Week, but I consider December 21st to be the end of Winter. Not just an affectation I genuinely feel better on the 22nd because the days begin to get longer.

    Have read in various places how Christmas is geared on some level to solstice but I do take heart in the fact that even though the weather only begins to get wintery, the daylight is on the increase.

    Actually helps.

    Good and beneficial New Year to you, Jason (and your family) from all of us at the Doctrine.

    Also Good New Year to Melanie, I benefit from your insights into Jason’s weekly ‘exercises’.

    (www.wakefielddoctrine.com)

  2. December 28, 2009 9:47 pm

    I’m with you as the days get longer, it does bring a certain sense of “thawing out” for me. Granted we are in the cold of Winter, but something about the light increasing and Spring getting closer, it does bring a feeling of betterment.

    Blessings to you and your family this New Year, clarkscottroger. Glad to have you participating in this project.

    Jason

  3. Melanie Chase permalink
    December 29, 2009 10:52 am

    Ah Winter Solstice, my second favorite… I love it because your mind knows there will be more light and everyday there will be a bit more than yesterday. I am wit hyou both on that one. And with the winter comes a cleansing a ending of the old year, and a hope that the upcoming spring and summer will be bountiful with whatever we feel we need.

    Christmas, I guess maybe I am the Scrooge; I love it for the festivities and the frills that go with it… but to me it is not about the celebration of the birth of Christ the Savior. The Christ Consciousness is with me every day, never the saved part. But even the festivities and advertising seem to grow with each year and start before Halloween. Somewhere along the line Christmas changed it’s meaning for me, which is not bad, not good, just is and I am ok with that.

    New Years, it is whole new start, a whole new cycle. Much can happen in a year and I feel this year the cycle will change more than we know on the spiritual level. The energies have started to shift all ready.

    And longly but lastly thank you my friend Jason for all your years of being my friend and to you clarkscottroger, I enjoy you thougths and energy and concider you my friend as well.
    Blessings to you both this upcoming year.

Leave a Reply

