Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 11/11/09

November 12, 2009

Ok…I missed getting this up on the 11th by about 6 minutes…but anyways…

These are three quotes from Joseph Campbell, a man whose work I greatly respect and admire. They give what I consider to be truths in my own life, and they build in a way that really reveals a lot of what this project is to me. Enjoy.

Follow your bliss and the universe will open doors for you where there were only walls

We must let go of the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.

The way to find out about happiness is to keep your mind on those moments when you feel most happy, when you are really happy — not excited, not just thrilled, but deeply happy. This requires a little bit of self-analysis. What is it that makes you happy? Stay with it, no matter what people tell you. This is what is called following your bliss.

Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    November 12, 2009 10:02 am

    Now you’re cooking; 3 great quotes from one of my favorites. These were given to you by the source this week to print as far as I am concerned. I was doing readings this week and variations of the first 2 quotes came up several times. I think this is what people need to be having on their minds. You are right J. these do resemble you so of course they would resemble your project.
    Even better me thinks it is time for you to write an article for one or more of the local spiritual or womens magazines, and get your stuff out there to help people (offshoot your project). I mean that, we have had talks on your wonderful writing skills and how you need to get helpful information out to people who need it and would actually use it. Creating and following bliss would make a wonderful topic in a confusing time. Posting these quotes was no accident my friend. There I have spoken! You know I would not say that unless I thought it would be a good thing for people. Just roll it around. LOL

    • November 16, 2009 10:29 pm

      Hey Mel –

      I feel that pull to write more. It is one of those things that brings a certain happiness in that deep and knowing place that Campbell talks about.

      I think we might need to get together as you always help me brainstorm in clarity. Over pie, of course!

  2. clarkscottroger permalink
    November 13, 2009 4:38 am

    Yeah! not bad, Jason.

    (As I have said in the past), I really like your site because it offers me a workout that involves the subject matter which is the reason for my being in WP-ville in the first place.

    I totally agree with Melanie, you ‘hit it out of the park’ with this weeks selection.

    Normally your QOTW are challenges right from the start. I find I need to read, re-read and tre-read (them) just to get at the message contained so that I can frame a Reply. (Of course thats the point of the exercise I get coming here).

    But this week, as I read it I found myself reacting, ‘alright bliss and acceptance, I can dig that’.

    For me the power words above are: bliss, accept and ‘open doors’

    In my own personal frame of reference I am dealing constantly with the concept of ‘passion’. (the power in the here and now ‘passion’ not the romance novel/soap opera ‘passion’)

    It (the concept of passion) always back to this for me. As a thing that I know of, but not necessarily know.
    The other metaphor I am relating to here is Casteneda’s ‘path with heart’.
    To find and walk the path with heart is (actually) my daily ambition, still very much an ambition. But as I find others of like mind, it comes closer and closer to being a reality.

    Thanks again.

    (www.wakefielddoctirne.com)

    • November 16, 2009 10:40 pm

      You are so right on with your comments. And I am grateful you have chosen this site as a place to work out.

      That concept of passion has been bubbling under my surface for awhile now. It is why these recent quotes jumped out at me, like it was time to rediscover my own passion.

      Over the last year or so I have been in a certain rut…like I had lost touch with (and sight of) my SELF.

      It’s why I started this project, to help me rediscover that passion, that path with the heart, that which makes me deeply happy, my bliss. And, possibly, inspire others in their own journey.

      I think the hardest thing for me has been the acceptance of the bliss, that then opens the doors.

      My wife put it perfectly the other day when she said I’m like a Jew in a Catholic family. I share a lot of common values with many people in my life, but I am different (especially with regard to my family). Only recently have I really started to accept that I am different and that is not a good or bad thing – it is just a fact. And in that acceptance, it is like I have given myself permission to follow my bliss.

      I had started to play with bliss and passion some years ago, had started to bring it into a more palpable reality, and then, I started listening to others, thinking too much, and fighting more against what they wanted (and I didn’t) as opposed to working for what I did want in my life. It was like I was trying to fit into clothes that didn’t fit anymore, and it was uncomfortable and frustrating. So I now choose the clothes that are my style, and worry less about what they think of my new outfit.

      I have found that when that true path with the heart is followed, more and more like minds come into the sphere, helping to propel us forward.

      And conversely, the more we fall away from our deeper happiness, that bliss, the more we attract those who divide us from that path.

      Bliss – with reckless abandon, I say!

Leave a Reply

