Skip to content

Kill ‘Em With Kindness…You Just Might Get A Free Shake

November 4, 2009

So my wife and I went to Red Robin the other night to redeem my free birthday burger. We sat down and the waitress came to take our order. We asked how she was doing, how the night was going, made a couple jokes about God-knows-what, had a basic conversation with a fellow human being.

We had just tucked into our burgers when the waitress came over wielding two giant chocolate milkshakes. I looked at my wife with that “I don’t think we ordered these” expression when the waitress said that she and the manager bought these shakes for us. “Consider it our way of saying thank you for being nice” she said. “Not getting the nicest people in here I take it?” I replied. “You have no idea” she answered.

It is amazing to me the lack of common courtesy and kindness that many people exhibit in their daily lives. Having worked in retail and in food service, I have had my share of experiences with people that were less than kind. I guess for me, in the “like attracts like” school of living, I do my best to be nice to people, not to receive favor but as an extension of goodwill toward humanity and this earth. Though it did yield a chocolate shake this time! I guess it’s just kind of sad barometer of human affairs the lack of sincere kindness, appreciation, and social grace that we see (be it at the local restaurant or in the crazy-ass town hall meetings with the Hitler signs and the spewing of almost base hatred).

Like I said to my wife, it can’t be the greatest existence to go through life being a jerk to people. Nor can it feel good to be so full of vile hatred and antagonism for others. Sure you might bully your way into getting stuff, but you probably don’t sleep very well at night with your tormented dreams and loneliness. Good luck to those who choose that way, I guess.

Props to the Red Robin at Redmond Town Center…where kindness is returned.

And along those lines, thanks also goes out to the people at Les Schwab Tires in Bellevue who have fixed holes in our tires on two separate occasions for free (weren’t even Les Schwab tires on the car).

Kindness…the grease that makes life turn in a good way.

Share

One Comment leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    November 5, 2009 10:52 am

    First of all HAPPY BIRTHDAY! Don’t you just love it when kindness just happens. It is catchy when you let it be. My favorite is saying something kind in an elevator when they can’t ignore you, and when I walk out I always say enjoy your day today to whomever is left inside. You received Blessing shakes… how cool, but you and your wife are very kind people so kindness was a gift back to you. Tada, life can be rewarding when you least expect it!

Leave a Reply

