Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – Adventure

October 28, 2009

It’s time again for the Quote(s)…Of…The…Weeeeeeekkkkkkkkkkkkkk……

This week is about adventure and I’ve decided to go again with two because it feels right. Enjoy.

Security is mostly a superstition. It does not exist in nature, nor do the children of men as a whole experience it. Avoiding danger is no safer in the long run than outright exposure. Life is either a daring adventure, or nothing. To keep our faces toward change and behave like free spirits in the presence of fate is strength undefeatable.

~ Helen Keller (American author and educator who was blind and deaf)

It is only in adventure that some people succeed in knowing themselves – in finding themselves.

~ Andre Gide (French writer, Nobel Prize for Literature in 1947)

Share

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    November 1, 2009 5:39 pm

    Again you chose wisely Grasshopper…

  2. clarkscottroger permalink
    November 2, 2009 1:07 pm

    (How awful a person I am…), I found myself thinking, ‘are there any ‘Helen Keller jokes’ that might serve as accent point to what I might say about the two quotes?’.

    And what is it about bad taste jokes and/or gallows humor.
    I personally will entertain the notion that humor serves as a safety valve, to the life internal.
    It has been said, ‘anxiety is the apperception of the uncanny’ I would want to suggest that laughter is the human reaction to confronting the incongruous. (I don’t think I made that up, I probably heard or read it somewhere.)
    But there is a link, a relationship from these two thoughts to your (two) Quote of the Week…
    Call it a certain symetry. What we all experience as normal life, the status quo is, in fact, a comfortable, non-threatening, non-changing place.
    New is different, different is bad (to the status quo), therefore we are trained to feel uncomfortable with the new and different. Adventure in this sense is ‘funny risk taking’. We laugh (between screams) on roller coasters, and while I am not saying the the authors above are talking about amusement parks, I would say they are noting that it is only on the ‘risky’ fringes of life that we feel most alive.

    (www.wakefielddoctrine.com)

    • November 4, 2009 10:58 am

      I love humor, I think it’s an art that has been lost somewhat in our culture as we have become almost hypersensitive, politically correct, victims, etc., etc. And trust me, as I have some of the “worst” jokes in my repertoire, the ones that really SHOCK people, because I love to see the reaction.

      I read somewhere that we use humor as a salve for uncomfortable emotions (the laughing on rollercoasters which I do constantly throughout the the entire ride).

      But it is there, on the risky fringes, in the uncomfortable moments, as I uncover uncomfortable emotions in the adventurous, throw-caution-to-the-wind choices that I have always felt the most alive.

      I think its that line between stagnation and growth, at least for me. When the normal, routine life sets in, I feel a certain pressure build, like I want to molt from my skin but can’t. I feel that stagnation, the rut, set in. When the chances are taken, the leaps of faith, I feel that sense of a “greater” life coming forward, like the water rushing out of the dam that has built up that pressure. And I tend to laugh in the process, as well.

Leave a Reply

