Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 10/21/09

October 21, 2009

Again, in pairs, this week’s Quote of the Week:

Some day after we have mastered the winds, the waves and gravity, we will harness for God the energies of love; and then for a second time in the history of the world, humans will have discovered fire.

~ Teilhard de Chardin (French Jesuit, paleontologist, biologist, and philosopher)

Everything I understand, I understand only because I love.

~ Leo Tolstoy (Author)

Share

4 Comments leave one →
  1. clarkscottroger permalink
    October 25, 2009 8:14 am

    (totally off-thread…)

    What I dis-(like/agree/pute) about the people and the opinions of those who profess a rational approach while advocating Intelligent Design, is the statement that I think I hear whenever they are closing their argument and goes sort of like:

    ‘…and when you look at the universe and it’s complexity and realise that we can’t come up with a design to do it ourselves, you have to accept that there must be a god…’

    The ego, consider the ego that thinks that the argument, ‘if it is beyond me to understand it, it must be a deity.’

    (The underlying implication being, of course, that the speaker is ‘next in line’ vis a vis your favorite supreme being.)

    Unless I am mistaken, the history of mankind is rife with the declarations of individuals donning the mantel of ‘rational intellectual’ and trying to claim the position of the person who knows all. (It is impossible to fly. The sun revolves around the earth etc).

    Please pardon the somewhat ‘rant-like’ tone of the comment. I just had an encounter with a ‘rational intellectual’ who knew that he could appeal to my intellect and show me the light (of Intelligent Design).

    PS Don’t disagree with either Leo or Mr. T.

    (www.wakefielddocttrine.com)

    • October 28, 2009 4:48 pm

      Sorry to be replying to this so late…been a crazy week. Personally, I greatly enjoy the types of conversations you had (when I am in the space for them). I find it so interesting to see the convictions many have, the utter RIGHTEOUSNESS of their opinions.

      I personally believe in an underlying intelligence that exists throughout this creation. I also believe in evolution. And I believe that we personally play a part in both. There was a time when I used to love entering the debates of “proving” God, until I realized that I was participating in the me vs. you, us vs. them game that I personally feel is a great plague on humanity.

      As it exists right now, I have come to realize that I cannot “prove” God anymore than I can prove love. Yet I know both exist. Ask me how? I feel it. Could love be reproduced in a laboratory, under some scientific method, or would it just show up as yet another chemical reaction in the brain, i.e. mystical experiences? Yet I don’t think the notion of love would ever be discounted as not existing. That’s me with God, Creative Principal, Source, Allan, Jebus, whatever, etc., etc.

      I am and always will be very weary of those who profess to know it all (as it tends to end badly for them and others).

  2. Melanie Chase permalink
    October 28, 2009 1:00 pm

    I really like these quotes, but you know me; I twist them and ponder on them to fit my understandings and beliefs. The first one because it tells me that we are so far from mastering anything that the creator has made. We may manipulate them to a degree but master?… Then I like that someday FOR God we will harness the energies of love. That to me also seems so far away. Could you just imagine what could be done with that kind of energy, oh wait, now we are talking about the Other Side, Nivana, Heaven or whatever you choose to call it. Where we do harness for God the energies of love, and because we are a part of the creator we harness for us as well. To discover fire a second time, a third, fourth and so on; returning home to the Godhead after incarnation. Like the quote from Wizard of OZ “there is no place like home” but it would be wonderful if we could achieve that kind of love here. But that is just my spin on it. But even with no pondering spin… they are beautiful words put together.

    The second quote, just sorta explains itself. No pondering, no thinking about it. Beautiful and simple. Again you picked a wonderful bouquet for us to look at. Thank you again for the weekly quotes.

  3. October 28, 2009 8:49 pm

    I guess for me, I have always believed in the potential to harness that love for God here. I think we have seen some who are known to history that have realized this potential (Jesus, Buddha, etc.) and there are others that have probably realized this and done so in a much less public way.

    I have always felt that we are at the leading edge of the evolution of God in this material place. Here we vibrate at a denser frequency, without the outright knowledge, understanding, and/or feeling of that non-physical place. As a part of that creator, even if that creator seems hidden at times (or all the time), we hold that ability to harness the love that binds us all together as one energetic creation and when that is realized on a large scale…oh what a wonderful world it is!

    It’s like we’re are having to push through the muck and the mire out here, blazing a trail through the wilds of existence so that the more refined energy of Nirvana, Heaven, the Other Side can establish a known residence here, from within and all around.

    Love…such a very beautiful and sublime thing.

Leave a Reply

