Skip to content

Sunday Scripture – Perception And Paranoia

October 4, 2009

Perception and paranoia…among other things you might say.

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. clarkscottroger permalink
    October 7, 2009 5:33 am

    (It is, no doubt, a sad commentary on the times when while watching this excellent video I find myself getting mad and laughing. Usually at alternate times, but not always.)

    It is good to know that there are those who have not given up and are willing to exert themselves and produce a good satire.
    Unfortunately or not, I find that I am cutting myself off more and more from the culture, at least in terms of it’s primary mouthpieces, i.e. newspapers, television those things. I tend to get more from my day when I do not expose myself to the messages (in these media) that try to tell me about the world today.

    Really. All it took (for me) was to see an article/hear a tv news person describe ‘Free Speech Zones’ (around whichever gathering was happening at the time). I was forced to confront the fact that this culture sees no irony/insanity in describing a “Free Speech Zone” (with security fencing) as being a reasonable compromise in this dangerous, dangerous world that we find ourselves in.

    I suspect I may be paying an un-recognised price for my efforts to insulate myself from the culture, but that just tells me that I can never be free of the conditioning that we are all subject to.

    (Cheery Reply, no?)

  2. October 7, 2009 8:23 pm

    Glad you find this entertaining. I thought it was a great little satire. I have to say I chuckled at your last line.

    I, too, have tended to cut myself off from the culture and media, paying close attention to what I allow in. Although, recently, I have become much more of an observer of culture, news, etc. looking on with “interest” at what is being presented.

    I find great entertainment value from watching things like Hannity vs. Olberman, the 700 Club, among others to really see what is being fed to people. Its like watching the drama unfold from the outside (in the world but not of it I guess is the best way to put it).

    I think the freedom from the conditioning comes from being cognizant of it, and allowing it to be without fighting it and thus being caught up in it. Really embracing a transparency. For me, that has made it very interesting and entertaining (from the infinite and eternal standpoint). I also find myself laughing. A lot.

    We are only bound to the conditioning when we allow ourselves to be. Recognizing that we have that choice is very powerful indeed.

Leave a Reply

