Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 9/30/09

September 30, 2009

“Be patient toward all that is unsolved in your heart and try to love the questions themselves. Do not now seek the answers, which cannot be given you because you would not be able to live them. And the point is to live everything. Live the questions”

~ Rainer Maria Rilke (German poet)

Share

6 Comments leave one →
  1. clarkscottroger permalink
    October 2, 2009 3:08 am

    But even (the questions) ‘that is unsolved in your heart’ are a reflection of yourself. Or perhaps a better way to say that, ‘what you think of as the questions within’ are still coming from the rational side, the side of ourselves that have an expectation of an answer.

    I use a term, ‘core of false beliefs and false assumptions’, that is meant to designate all that I have within my self that the reality I experience is a reflection of.
    Everything, (including this pre-disposition to looking for answers) is a part of this core of false beliefs and false assumptions. The origin of this core does not overly matter, nature and nurture, early influences, not that important.
    But what happens is that each day I live and experience the world as described by this core, the more real and unalterable the core becomes. (‘As it was in the past, so shall it be’).

    I am fortunate in having had a brush with with a ‘miracle’. The encounter was sufficient so that I know (that which I cannot know).
    It is/was the kind of thing that is ‘non-rational’ or ‘supra-rational’, whatever term you can get comfortable with, but one of the certainties that is left afterwards is that this experience is/can be something that is never to be touched directly.

    Anyway, what I started to say, was that the initial sets of questions sort of have to be allowed to lose their need (to be answered).
    Once that occurs, there is the possibilty of a set of questions that are not coming from yourself, but from a place different.

    Its maintaining the quiet inside after the first set of questions get answered thats the real pain.

    • October 7, 2009 5:46 pm

      I think you hit an a few keys points:

      1. That core of false beliefs and false assumptions and that each day lived by that core contributes to an increasing of the real-ness and unalterable-ness (seemingly) of said core. Getting into that core is like working in a garden where you have to remove weeds, aiming to remove the root that brings the weed back and that core is the hard soil that has to be broken through. That core has to be broken away, chipped, undone, like a knot that has to be untied. Whereas some people might want to unravel that knot one strand at a time, I have always seen the value in taking the blade and cutting right through, quickly, cleanly, and efficiently.

      2. The point you make about the initial sets of questions losing their need I think is that evolution we undergo where what was once “important” or so needing to be answered falls away as our being changes. And in that change, in that evolution and growth, new questions, new wisdom, new understanding flows from a new frequency of life.

      3. And yes, maintaining the quiet can be a pain…

  2. October 2, 2009 8:54 am

    How amazing is it that just when I am ready to let my mind run rampant about things of which I have no control, I see this post. I am reminded to beleive in grace, miracles if you will, and the power of the mind. This is is truly something of effort, we must constantly remind our egos that we are not the layer of the tracks but the conductor of the train. If we could bottle this and give it to our youth,what an important gift it would be to the future. The wisdom that time reveals, heals, and changes you is shelter from the downpour of life. The good and the bad, the high and the low, pain and joy,all are necessary and mandatory to take steps toward spiratual growth. The point is not to stop asking the questions, but rather to marinate in them as long as it takes for the answer to come to you. Time will reveal those questions which are truly significant and, therefore shed light on those which were never worthy of the ride anyway.

    • October 7, 2009 5:50 pm

      Thanks for commenting…the synchronicities that give us just what we need when we need it never to cease to amaze me in this miraculous world.

      There is great beauty in what you have written. Well said.

      And if we could not only give this to our youth, but also to ourselves, what an even more wonderful world it would be.

  3. Melanie Chase permalink
    October 7, 2009 4:40 pm

    J.
    I had a big smile with this quote. I am trying to figure out exactly my opinion on this Rainer Rilke quote. I love the thought process behind it more than the quote itself. For me…seeking knowledge and forming questions is just as important as finding the answers, but to me, you never really find the true answer until you are ready anyway. At least when it is on a soul level of questioning. Funny thing sometimes when you find the answer sometimes the question will become mute. I am interested to know why you picked this quote? To make people think and question…am I right?

    • October 7, 2009 7:41 pm

      Hey Mel,

      I’m always here to make people think and question! I am glad it is providing you with a new opportunity….

      One of the trends I am seeing in seeking answers is just what you hit on when the answer is revealed and the question becomes a moot point. It’s kind of like searching for a station on the radio, when you hit the frequency where the sound comes forth the question of where the station is and the searching on the dial is no longer relevant. I think its this understanding that helps in the evolution of our being, as we grow, certain questions don’t matter. Like the baby that is not yet walking, and the process and questioning that goes into learning how to walk, once that baby is now walking the questions, the search, the process is no longer important, and then new questions and journeys come into place.

      Personally, this quote came to because of things going on in my sphere. I have always valued living, loved the process of life revealed and sometimes interrupted. Over the past year of so I have been trying to control the flow of life, to give answers to situations effecting me and the future of my family, to dictate how it was going to be, where we would go, etc. and in those “answers” I stagnated and forget to live. One thing I have found out is that it (life, etc.) never really looks how you think it will. And when you let go and enter that, it turns out so much greater than expected.

      Of course, in letting go, everything has begun to fall into place and move!

      The ironies, the ironies…

      All that grand mystery, which is truly the answer unto itself.

Leave a Reply

