Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 9/9/09

September 9, 2009

I’m kind of into the group of quotes right now. Here’s two from the great American poet and Lizard King himself, Jim Morrison:

“How can I set free anyone who doesn’t have the guts to stand up alone and declare his own freedom? I think it’s a lie – people claim they want to be free – everybody insists that freedom is what they want the most, the most sacred and precious thing a man can possess. But that’s bullshit! People are terrified to be set free – they hold on to their chains. They fight anyone who tries to break those chains. It’s their security. How can they expect me or anyone else to set them free if they don’t really want to be free?”

Jim Morrison

The most important kind of freedom is to be what you really are. You trade in your reality for a role. You trade in your sense for an act. You give up your ability to feel, and in exchange, put on a mask. There can’t be any large-scale revolution until there’s a personal revolution, on an individual level. It’s got to happen inside first. You can take away a man’s political freedom and you won’t hurt him- unless you take away his freedom to feel. That can destroy him. That kind of freedom can’t be granted. Nobody can win it for you.”

Jim Morrison

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    September 10, 2009 9:14 am

    Again you picked some quotes to make people think and very accurate they are. So when I was thinking of these quotes, my mind starts to wander and I thought; the older I get the more the Earth changes for me. The illusions of my reality become clearer. But are they still my illusions, or my reality, or both one in the same? But the last few years have taught me something valuable. In my personal spiritual growth… by following my lessons, my drum, my reality, my illusions, I acheive my freedom. I may walk my path alone sometimes but I feel lighter without some of the chains I had carried in my past. Yes I will lose more chains and maybe even pick some up now and then. But to me personal freedom is not free, not a given, it is a lifetime of going within, and exploring without. This may be a little off track the quotes you picked, but this is what my mind experienced from these quotes. Keep up the good work Jason. Your infusion is and will be helping many for a long time to come.

  2. September 11, 2009 12:03 am

    I think the changing of the Earth that you talk about is that evolution and growth that is so critical for life. The path we walk requires going further and further into ourselves, our illusions, our “truths”, our fears, even our dreams, uncovering more and more of who we truly are. Tt is how we remain awake and fend off that stagnation that sucks the soul dry.

    As we change and grow our reality follows suit, the literal energetic environment, that ground of God, changes as we change. And when we realize that, take responsibility for that, and allow that to happen (and whatever that means in the way of chains being dropped and circumstances of life changing) that freedom becomes the way and it dawns on us that it has been there all along.

    What is critical is that fact that it is not free, as you say. It is not a given, it is a choice we each must make individually and commit to wholeheartedly, a continuing process that is the creation of the story of our life, the story of the soul of the world, and ultimately the story of God.

    For me, freedom ultimately comes in the courage to be one’s true self, free of fear, expectation, conditioning, or what others think we should be. That can be hard because it means we sometimes have to walk alone, but therein lies the irony in that we are never really alone.

    Thank you for taking part in this project, Mel. You have been one of my teachers and friends on this path. For that I am grateful.

Leave a Reply

