Skip to content

Quote Of The Week – 9/2/09

September 2, 2009

This week’s Quote of the Week is actually two from the Tibetan teacher Chögram Trungpa:

We may think it’s spiritual to yearn for divine connection. And yet, if the longing is to fill an emptiness inside, just how does this differ from the one who yearns for money or possessions to fill the inner void? Do we look to our spiritual practices as proof of our evolved consciousness or as protection against fears? Any time we use spiritual disciplines to maintain our identity and security, we are not yet on the path of genuine spiritual development.

Chögram Trungpa

Enlightenment is ego’s ultimate disappointment.

Chögram Trungpa

Share

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Melanie Chase permalink
    September 4, 2009 9:34 am

    Makes you think, me likes this very much. You do a FANTASTIC job in finding treasures and sharing them. Not to put you on the spot or anything… but I think you should be the quote of the week some time. I can remember conversations with you where your words are just as thought provoking. I look forward to all “Quotes of the week”. Thanks

  2. September 5, 2009 7:07 pm

    Thanks, Mel. As it goes, I tend to happen upon these treasures when I need them, and thus figure it is the universe’s way of letting me know that they can be of benefit to others.

    And thanks for putting me on the spot! I figure as the blog grows, I will be putting myself on the spot more and more. Maybe I will be the “Quote of the Week” in the future (on this blog or someone else’s).

Leave a Reply

